Archery Program State Tournament Will Be Held March 21

Archery program state tournament will be held March 21

HOT SPRINGS - The Arkansas National Archery in the Schools Program - part of the National Archery in the Schools Program - will hold its state tournament on March 21 at Summit Arena in Hot Springs. Over 900 kids from around the state are scheduled to compete.

The archery program involves students beginning in the fourth grade continuing through their high school senior year. Students learn archery skills, as well as an outdoor hobby they may enjoy for the rest of their lives.

The tournament will be held in the arena's halls C and D. Registration will begin at 8 a.m. with the first flight starting at 9 a.m. The second flight begins at 11 a.m. A third flight begins at 1 p.m.

The top shooter shoot-off will be held at 4 p.m. with the awards ceremony beginning shortly after. The top shooter shoot-off will include the top three boys and top three girls in each division. Scholarship money will be awarded to each contestant in the boys and girls category. The top shooter gets $2,500, second place gets $2,000 and third place gets $1,500 in the senior division only.

Archers will compete for trophies. A special edition Matthews Genesis bow goes to each member of the top team in each division.

The schools that come in first place will also receive a banner for their gym and a trophy for their trophy cases as well as individual trophies for each team member. Second and third place teams will receive individual trophies for each participant. Fourth and fifth place teams will receive medals.

Schools scheduled to compete:

1st Flight Teams, 9 a.m.-11 a.m.

Monticello Elementary School, Monticello Middle School, Mann Magnet Middle School, Arkansas Baptist High School, Arkansas Baptist Middle School, Quitman Middle School, Quitman High School, Beebe Middle School, Hope High School, Carlisle Elementary School, Two Rivers Elementary School, Two Rivers Middle School, Two Rivers High School, Two Rivers Elementary School (Fourche Campus), Two Rivers Middle School (Fourche Campus), Two Rivers High School (Fourche Campus), Chenal Elementary School, Carlisle Middle School, Carlisle High School.

2nd Flight Teams, 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Eagle Mountain Magnet School, Pangburn Middle School, Pangburn Elementary School, St. Mary's Elementary School, St. Joe High School, St. Joe Middle School, Kingston Elementary School, Kingston Middle School, Kingston High School, Jasper Elementary School, Jasper Middle School, Jasper High School, Oark Elementary School, Oark Middle School, Oark High School, Crystal Hill Elementary School.

3rd Flight Teams, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Monitor Elementary School, Greene County Tech Elementary School, Rural Special High School, Ramay Middle School, Ramay High School, El Dorado Elementary School, Hamburg High School.