Arkansas State's Carrington named to preseason Lott Watch list

JONESBORO, Ar - Arkansas State senior defensive end Alex Carrington has been named to the 2009 Lott Trophy Watch List, made up of 42 of the nation's top defensive players who have had the biggest IMPACT on their teams on and off the field.

IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Carrington, the 2008 Sun Belt Conference Defensive Player of the Year, is also on the 2009 Rotary Lombardi Award Preliminary Watch List that was announced in March. He was a First Team All-Sun Belt Conference selection, named the Little Rock Touchdown Club's ASU Player of the Year and tabbed Midseason Second Team All-America in 2008.

The Tupelo, Miss., native finished just one sack shy of the Sun Belt Conference record last season as a junior. He ranked tied for 14th in the nation in sacks (10.5) and seventh in the nation in tackles for loss (1.58 per game). His 10.5 sacks ranked as the fourth most in ASU history and he posted at least one sack in seven games.  He had multiple sacks in three games, including a career-high 2.5 sacks against Louisiana-Monroe.

Carrington tallied at least one tackle for loss in 10 of 12 games, registering a season-high three tackles for loss in three different games. His 53 tackles were the sixth most on the team and most among defensive linemen. He also recorded his first career interception last season.

Carrington is the first Arkansas State player to be named to the watch list for the Lott Trophy, now in its sixth year.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career:  Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif., on Dec. 13.

Source: ASU SPorts Information