12 Counties Declared Disaster, 6 More to be Announced

December 8, 2002
Posted at: 6:16 p.m. CDT

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Nearly a week after a winter storm swept across the northern part of the state, some five thousand people remained without power on Monday.

Crews are working to restore lines and repair poles. Also, Governor Huckabee signed a disaster proclamation for 12 counties, including Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, and Stone.

Fulton, Greene, Newton, Poinsett, Van Buren and White counties were expected to be added to the state declaration Tuesday. The declaration allows the state Department of Emergency Management and the Arkansas National Guard to assist storm victims and will be used to determine if Arkansas is eligible for federal assistance.

The governor's office said damage assessments would begin later this week.

Copyright 2002 Associated Press. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.