Six More Counties Declared Disasters

December 10, 2002
Posted at: 4:20 p.m. CDT

PARAGOULD, Ark. -- Gov. Mike Huckabee has named six additional counties as state disaster areas because of damages from ice and snow last week.

The governor signed a proclamation Tuesday adding Fulton, Greene, Newton, Poinsett, Van Buren and White counties to the list of counties eligible for state disaster assistance. That brought the number of counties named disaster areas to 18.

The governor signed a proclamation Monday declaring Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp and Stone counties as state disaster areas.

The six additional counties were added Tuesday after local officials worked with the state Department of Emergency Management to survey the damage.

Huckabee is asking the Federal Emergency Management Agency to determine if Arkansas is eligible for federal assistance because of the winter storm, which left more than 40,000 homes without electricity and damaged trees, homes and other property.