FIFA decides 12 host cities for 2014 World Cup

NASSAU, Bahamas (AP) - Soccer's world governing body has chosen the 12 Brazilian cities that will host matches for the 2014 World Cup.

FIFA's executive committee decided Sunday that Rio de Janeiro, Curitiba, Porto Alegre, Sao Paulo, Cuiaba, Manaus, Fortaleza, Natal, Recife, Brasilia, Salvador and Bela Horizonte will host the matches.

In all, 17 cities vied for host rights before FIFA's executive committee, which opens its annual congress Tuesday.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.