Earthquake monitors headed to Missouri

ROLLA, Mo. (AP) - More than 40 earthquake recording stations will be placed around the state and in Iowa as part of a federal initiative overseen by Missouri University of Science and Technology.

The seismic monitors join another 400 stations already in place across the western U.S. through the National Science Foundation's EarthScope program. The monitors remain in place for two years and are then relocated as the project moves eastward.

The New Madrid fault line runs through five states along the Mississippi River: Missouri, Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky and Illinois.

Missouri was last hit by a significant earthquake nearly 200 years ago when a series of quakes spread through the Missouri Bootheel and northeast Arkansas.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.