Arkansas to receive $14M for ice storm recovery

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas will receive nearly $14.85 million in federal disaster assistance to assist in cleanup and recovery efforts after a massive January ice storm.

Members of the state's congressional delegation made the announcement Tuesday in Washington about the funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Of the money, about $2.02 million from FEMA will go to Craighead Electric Cooperative and about $2.98 million from FEMA will go to the North Arkansas Electric Cooperative.

About $9.85 million from the DOT will be alloted for 30 counties. The counties are Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Cross, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Newton, Poinsett, Pope, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, and Washington counties.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.