3 counties declared disaster areas

WASHINGTON (AP) - President Barack Obama has declared Shelby, Fayette and Haywood counties as federal disaster areas as a result of severe weather in June.

The declaration Monday means federal aid will supplement state and local recovery efforts in the three counties struck by tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding June 12 to June 14.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private, nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the weather.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.