Money for Arkansas forest lands

LITTLE ROCK, AR- (AP) - Nearly $5.2 million in federal stimulus money will pay for six projects to be carried out in Arkansas' national forests, officials announced Tuesday.

The U.S. Forest Service said the money is part of $94 million allocated to national forests in 36 states.  Arkansas has three national forests:  the Ozark National Forest in north central and northwest Arkansas, the Ouachita National Forest in west-central Arkansas, and the St. Francis National Forest in the Mississippi Delta region of east Arkansas.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)