AAA Reinstates Lamar In State Football Playoffs

North Little Rock (KAIT) - The road to Little Rock will now be the road to Conway for 3A teams.

The Arkansas Activities Association announced Monday that it will lift the state football playoff suspension for Class 3A and the playoffs will begin on Friday, November 20 with all games starting at 7:30 p.m.

In accordance with court orders from fifth judicial circuit judge Gordon McCain, who serves Franklin, Johnson and Pope Counties, the AAA has reinstated Lamar High School as the second place team from the Class 3A 4 Conference. The AAA had ruled that Lamar used an ineligible player and had to forfeit five conference wins. The forfeitures knocked Lamar out of consideration for post-season participation. Last week McCain ruled in favor of Lamar. The opening round games scheduled to start last Friday, November 13, were suspended indefinitely by the AAA.

"With guidance of the AAA Board of Directors and our legal council the AAA has decided that it was in the best interest of our member schools and student-athletes to begin the Class 3A state football playoffs," said AAA executive director Lance Taylor. Unfortunately, the championship game for Class 3A cannot be played in Little Rock at War Memorial Stadium.

"I want to thank all of our AAA member schools for their support and encouragement in this unprecedented procedure in our history."

The Class 3A state championship game will be played at Estes Stadium on the University of Central Arkansas campus on Friday, December 18th at 7:00 p.m.

The Class 2A state championship game has been moved to Saturday, December 12th at 12:00 noon.  The game was originally scheduled for Friday, December 11th.

The AAA's legal course of action is still pending.

The Lamar decision realigned the entire bracket. The new first round pairings are below.


First Round (Perryville, Rivercrest, Prescott, Fountain Lake, Charleston and Harding Academy all receive byes)

Magnet Cove at Mansfield (winner plays at Perryville in Second Round)

Episcopal Collegiate at Bauxite (winner plays at Rivercrest in Second Round)

Mayflower at Lavaca (winner plays at Prescott in Second Round)

Cedarville at Glen Rose

Green Forest at Barton

Parkers Chapel at Lamar (winner plays at Fountain Lake in Second Round)

Earle at Rison (winner plays at Charleston in Second Round)

Cave City at Paris (winner plays at Harding Academy in Second Round)

Yellville-Summit at Camden Harmony Grove

Harrisburg vs. Jessieville