AAA Decision Impacts 3A and 2A Region 8 Teams

(KAIT) - The Road to Little Rock will now be the Road to Conway in 3A.

Today the AAA announced that Lamar would be reinstated in the playoffs as the number 2 seed in the 4-3A. The First Round would begin Friday, November 20th at 7:30pm in stadiums all across the state.

Only one 3A Region 8 matchup in the first round changed. Cave City will travel to Paris instead of Yellville-Summit. Rivercrest still has a first round bye, Earle will still travel to Rison, and Harrisburg will still host Jessieville.

The 3A State Championship will now be played at the University of Central Arkansas in Conway instead of War Memorial. It's scheduled for Friday, December 18th at 7pm.

With the 3A title game moving 32 miles away, the game for the 2A spoils will be played a day later. The 2A State Championship will be played Saturday, December 12th, with kickoff at noon at War Memorial in Little Rock.

The Second Round pairings for Classes 6A, 5A, 4A, and 2A are below, along with the First Round pairings for 3A. Region 8 Teams are in bold.



Texarkana at El Dorado

Jonesboro vs. Watson Chapel

West Memphis vs. Pine Bluff

Little Rock-Parkview at Lake Hamilton



Pulaski Academy at Greenwood

Greene County Tech at Monticello

White Hall at Camden Fairview

Greenbrier at Little Rock Christian


Second Round

Malvern at Booneville

Lonoke at Warren

Osceola vs. Ashdown

Heber Springs at Gravette

De Queen at Shiloh Christian

Prairie Grove at Nashville

Star City at Bald Knob

Dover at Stuttgart


First Round (Perryville, Rivercrest, Prescott, Fountain Lake, Charleston and Harding Academy all receive byes)

Magnet Cove at Mansfield (winner plays at Perryville in Second Round)

Episcopal Collegiate at Bauxite (winner plays at Rivercrest in Second Round)

Mayflower at Lavaca (winner plays at Prescott in Second Round)

Cedarville at Glen Rose

Green Forest at Barton

Parkers Chapel at Lamar (winner plays at Fountain Lake in Second Round)

Earle at Rison (winner plays at Charleston in Second Round)

Cave City at Paris (winner plays at Harding Academy in Second Round)

Yellville-Summit at Camden Harmony Grove

Harrisburg vs. Jessieville


Second Round

McCrory vs. Mountain Pine

Mineral Springs at Bearden

Woodlawn at Hazen

Spring Hill at Union Christian

Junction City at Murfeesboro

Cross County at Danville

Carlisle at Magazine

Strong at Des Arc