7 emergency responders given Mo. Medal of Valor

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - Seven emergency responders have been given the Missouri Medal of Valor for savings lives in 2008.

Democratic Gov. Jay Nixon presented the medals Thursday during a ceremony in the state Capitol. A special committee selects up to seven recipients each year.

Emergency responders rescued motorists trapped in burning vehicles, ended a gun fight, saved someone caught in a fire and brought someone out of a burning home.

This year's recipients are emergency medical technician Robert Bellefy (BELL'-fye) of Belton Emergency Services, Fulton firefighters Daniel Berry and Todd Gray and Pulaski County Sheriff Deputy Donald Hayden. Missouri State Highway Patrol troopers Shawn Dougherty from Carter County, Dale Jinkens from the Kansas City area and Andrew Ward from Butler County also received the medal.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.