Mallett named a Manning Award finalist

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas Razorback redshirt sophomore quarterback Ryan Mallett has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2010 Manning Award, given to the nation's top quarterback, it was announced Tuesday. Mallett is one of just two sophomores on the list of finalists.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a February banquet in New Orleans.

On the season, Mallett is 210-of-367 for 3,422 yards with 29 touchdowns. He has matched or passed 12 different school records as a Razorback. Currently, he leads the SEC in passing and total offense.

Mallett has passed for at least one touchdown in 11 of 12 games as a Razorback and in 13 of his 15 career starts.

Also included on the list of finalists are Jimmy Clausen of Notre Dame, Andy Dalton of TCU, Max Hall of BYU, Case Keenum of Houston, Dan LeFevour of Central Michigan, Colt McCoy of Texas, Kellen Moore of Boise State, Tony Pike of Cincinnati and Tim Tebow of Florida.

For more information on Razorback football, visit For more information on the 2010 Manning Award, visit


University of Arkansas Media Relations