Forrest City, others added to state's fiscal distress list

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The state Board of Education is adding three more schools to the state's fiscal distress program.

The Forrest City, Wickes and Yellville-Summit districts were added to the program Monday because of spending that is depleting their reserve funds.

The districts must now develop and carry out a financial improvement plan and their expenditures are subject to prior approval by the Department of Education. The districts have two years to correct the problems or they face being merged into a neighboring district.

The three join the Osceola, Decatur, Greenland and Mansfield districts on the distressed list.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.