Nelson Catalina to be inducted into Sports Hall of Fame

North Little Rock, Ark. — The Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame will take in 10 new inductee's Friday evening February 19, 2010, at its annual induction banquet at Verizon Arena in North Little Rock.

Headlining the group will be Razorback basketball legend Scotty Thurman, whose three pointer sealed the Hogs national title victory over Duke in 1994; six-time NFL Pro Bowler Leslie O'Neal who played for San Diego, St. Louis, and Kansas City; and former Ole Miss fullback Charlie Flowers of Marianna, who finished 5th in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1959 and is an inductee of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Joining that trio are former Razorback All-American guard Leotis Harris, who later was a standout with the NFL's Green Bay Packers; Nelson Catalina, who guided Arkansas State's basketball program to four 20 win seasons along with 4 post-season appearances; Caldwell Jones, a 17 year veteran of both the ABA and NBA who twice was named to the NBA's "all-defensive team"; North Little Rock basketball coach Jimmy Culp, who in the 1960's guided the Wildcats to 52 consecutive home victories; and Henderson State's Rhonda Thigpen, who has more than 400 Division II victories and 5 state volleyball championships.

The posthumous inductee's are Bill "Ground Hog" Ferrell a longtime trainer and baseball coach at the University of Arkansas, and the late Alene Crabtree, one of the state's more successful girls high school basketball and track coaches having been named "coach of the year" in Arkansas in both sports.

Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame