ASU's Newton receives Gary Withrow Award - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

ASU's Newton receives Gary Withrow Award

(JONESBORO, Ark) – Selected by the Arkansas State football coaching staff and players, Derek Newton (Utica, Miss.) has been named the winner of the of the Gary Withrow Award that is given annually to the Red Wolves' outstanding offensive lineman of the year.

Newton will receive an individual trophy and his name will be added to the Withrow plaque that is mounted in the offensive lineman meeting room. The award will be presented Saturday, Feb. 27 during ASU's men's basketball game against Troy that is scheduled to start at 7:05 p.m.

An All-Sun Belt Conference selection this past season, Newton was one of the most consistent players on ASU's offensive line and the only ASU offensive lineman to start every game in 2009. He helped lead the way for 21 rushing touchdowns, the third most in the Sun Belt Conference. He paved the way for three different ASU players rushing for over 100 yards in at least one game and was part of ASU's line that helped the offense to its most yards of total offense (484) against an FBS opponent since the 2007 season.

ASU Sports Information


Powered by Frankly