Three Red Wolves Receive SBC Basketball Postseason Honors

Jonesboro (KAIT) - Today was another banner day for ASU basketball. Three Red Wolves received big time honors from the Sun Belt Conference.

Men's basketball head coach John Brady was named the SBC Coach of The Year, Brandon Reed was named SBC Freshman of the Year and selected to the SBC Men's All-Conference 2nd Team, and Ebonie Jefferson was selected to the SBC Women's All-Conference 2nd Team.

Brady, in his second year at the helm of the ASU program, guided the Red Wolves to its best conference record (11-7) since the 2006-07 season. The 11 wins marked the seventh time since ASU joined the Sun Belt that they posted double-digit league wins. The Coach of the Year honor was the third such honor overall for Brady, having earned the honor twice before while at LSU. This season the Red Wolves rank fifth in scoring offense and rank fourth in team defense in the league. The Red Wolves lead the SBC in rebounding and in field goal defense allowing opponents to shoot just over 40 percent.

Reed, a native of Atlanta, Ga., led the Red Wolves with 15.0 points per game, as he helped lead the team to an 11-7 conference record and No. 5 overall seed in the SBC Tournament. Reed has 434 points this season which is a new ASU freshman record, shattering the 48-year old school record of 416 points set during the 1961-62 season.

Jefferson led the Red Wolves in scoring at 14.8 points per game during the 2009-10 season. Ranked fourth among all players in the Sun Belt in scoring, Jefferson scored in double figures in 23 of the Red Wolves' 29 games this season.  A preseason All-Sun Belt Conference third team selection and currently ranked among the league's leaders in five statistical categories, she posted six games of 20 points or more and scored a career-high 27 points against Missouri State Nov. 27.

ASU will head to the Sun Belt Conference Tournament this weekend in Hot Springs.

The complete Sun Belt Conference postseason selections are below.

SBC Men's Basketball Postseason Honors

First Team All-Conference
Nate Rohnert (Denver, SR, G/F)
Tyren Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette, SR, F)
Desmond Yates (Middle Tennessee, SR, F)
Brandon Hazzard (Troy, SR, G)
AJ Slaughter (WKU, SR, G)

Second Team All-Conference
Brandon Reed (Arkansas State, FR, G)
George Odufuwa (North Texas, JR, F)
Tim Williams (South Alabama, JR, G)
Michael Vogler (Troy, SR, G)
Steffphon Pettigrew (WKU, JR, F)

Third Team All-Conference
Greg Gantt (Florida Atlantic, FR, G)
Ray Taylor (Florida Atlantic, FR, G)
Tristan Thompson (North Texas, JR, G)
Eric Tramiel (North Texas, SR, F)
Josh White (North Texas, JR, G)

Player of the Year: Tyren Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette, SR, F)
Defensive Player of the Year: Brett Royster (Florida Atlantic, JR, F)
Freshman of the Year: Brandon Reed (Arkansas State, FR, G)
Coach of the Year: John Brady, Arkansas State

SBC Women's Basketball Postseason Honors

First Team All-Conference
Chastity Reed (UALR, Jr., F)
Kaetlyn Murdoch (Denver, So., F.)
Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Brandi Brown (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Arnika Brown (WKU, Sr., F)

Second Team All-Conference
Ebonie Jefferson (Arkansas State, Sr., G)
Britteni Rice (Denver, Jr., G.)
Elisa Carey (FIU, Jr., F)
Jackie Pickel (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)
Amy McNear (WKU, Jr., G)

Third Team All-Conference
Kim Sitzmann (UALR, Sr., G)
Brittany Bowe (Florida Atlantic, Sr., G)
Brittney James (North Texas, Sr., G)
Shakira Nettles (South Alabama, Sr., G)
Donette McNair (Troy University, Jr., F)

Player of the Year: Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee, Sr., F)
Defensive Player of the Year: Jackie Pickel (Middle Tennessee, Sr., G)
Freshman of the Year: Jasmine Godbolt (North Texas, Fr., F)
Coach of the Year: Joe Foley, UALR