Three counties declared state disaster after last weeks storms

LITTLE ROCK, AR (KAIT) – Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe has declared three counties state disaster areas after severe weather tore through the area on Wednesday, March 10.

Beebe declared Cleburne, Saline, and White counties due to damages caused by tornadoes and severe storms.

The declaration makes these three counties eligible for funds from the Public Assistance Program. The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management will oversee the use of the funds to help the local government in those three counties pay for costs related to storm response and clean up.

The Governor's office doesn't believe Arkansas will reach the required threshold to qualify for federal assistance from this round of severe weather.

At least one person was killed in Cleburne County due to the cause of the storm.

©2010 KAIT All rights reserved.