Players honored at ASU Women's Basketball Post-Season Banquet

Jonesboro (ASU) - The Arkansas State University women's basketball program honored its student-athletes Tuesday night at the annual ASU women's basketball post-season banquet at the Cooper Alumni Center on the ASU campus.

Brad Bobo, the "Voice of the Red Wolves," served as emcee of the event.  Bobo introduced Red Wolves Head Coach Brian Boyer to those in attendance, and Boyer, along with assistant coaches Tanya Ray, Rebecca Peoples and Jennifer Sullivan presented the following awards:

Presented with letter jackets as first-year letter winners were freshmen LaWanda Clayborn (Memphis, Tenn.), Quinishia McDowell (Monroe, La.), Jasmine Taylor (Memphis, Tenn.), Andi Watson (Jonesboro, Ark.) and junior Breaunna Ellison (The Colony, Texas).

Sophomores Linsay Henke (Jefferson City, Mo.), NeNe Hurst (St. Louis, Mo.) and Meghan Lewis (St. Louis, Mo.) were presented with custom-made photo collages filled with various action shots from games throughout their careers.

Junior Shay Scott (North Little Rock, Ark.) was presented with a Red Wolves wristwatch, while seniors Ebonie Jefferson (Laurel, Miss.) and Lyndsay Schlup (California, Mo.) were presented with custom Red Wolves basketballs for their four years of outstanding service and leadership to the ASU women's basketball program.

Jefferson was named as the team's Most Valuable Player after leading the team in scoring at 14.9 points-per-game.  She finished her career with 1,096 points to rank No. 14 on the all-time ASU scoring chart and at No. 10 on the all-time steals chart with 158. 

Schlup was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year after blocking 35 shots during her senior year to bring her career total to 76.  Her 35 blocked shots last season was tied for the fifth-most in school history and her 76 blocks are also tied for fifth-best career total. 

Scott was named ASU's Offensive MVP after averaging a career-best 12.4 points per game and leading the Red Wolves in scoring on 10 occasions.  She also pulled down 115 offensive rebounds on the season while scoring in double figures 22 times, posting seven double-doubles along the way.

Awards given for individual accomplishments throughout the season included the Seton Hall Classic All-Tournament team to Jefferson, and recognition to Jefferson for earning All-Sun Belt Conference honors for her play during the season.  Jefferson was also recognized for having the fourth-highest scoring average in the Sun Belt Conference, Scott was honored for finishing fifth in the league in offensive rebounding, including fourth in SBC games only, and Schlup received recognition for finishing fourth in the SBC in blocked shots per game.

McDowell, Clayborn, Ellison, Hurst, Schlup, Taylor and freshman Shatara Stone were recognized for being named to the academic honor roll, with McDowell also winning the Student-Athlete of the Year award for excellence in the classroom.

Schlup was presented with the Red Wolves Excellence Award, given each year for displaying excellence in academics, community service, and character along with pride in ASU and heart, effort and determination on and off the court.