New disaster declarations for 11 Tenn counties

Associated Press - May 6, 2010 3:15 PM ET

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Gov. Phil Bredesen announced 11 more Tennessee counties have been declared federal disaster areas, bringing the total number to 21.

According to a Thursday news release, the declaration will make federal assistance available to individuals in Carroll, Crockett, Decatur, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Houston, Madison and Obion counties.

Bredesen asked President Obama on Monday to declare 52 counties federal disaster areas following the floods and tornadoes that struck the state over the weekend. Counties previously authorized to receive assistance include Cheatham, Davidson, Dyer, Hickman, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, Shelby, Tipton and Williamson.

Bredesen said he expects that additional counties will receive federal disaster declarations soon.

Individual assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.