PHILADELPHIA – (April 16, 2003) Ray H. Hall, Jr., MD, of Jonesboro, Arkansas, took office as Governor for the Arkansas Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) at a meeting of the National Organization of Internists on April 5 in San Diego.


ACP membership includes doctors of internal medicine, related subspecialists, and medical students.  Internists are specialists in the prevention, detection, and treatment of illnesses that primarily affect adults.


Dr. Hall is an internist in his 26th year of private practice in Jonesboro and is the founder of the Northeast Arkansas Clinic. Today, NEA Clinic is the largest and most comprehensive multi-specialty group practice in the region. NEA Clinic is made up of 60 physicians providing care in 21 medical specialties.


Dr. Hall served a one-year term as ACP Governor-elect and is the first Governor to be elected from northeast Arkansas.  The term of ACP Governor is four years.


As ACP Governor, Dr. Hall represents Arkansas members of the ACP Board of Governors, an advisory board to the ACP Board of Regents.  He also supervises chapter activities, appoints members to local committees, and presides at regional meetings.


Dr. Hall received his bachelor of science degree from Arkansas State University and his medical degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock.  He completed postdoctoral training in internal Medicine at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center and the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.  He is board-certified in Internal Medicine and is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians (FACP).


Dr. Hall is on staff at the St. Bernard’s Regional Medical Center and is a staff member of the Regional Medical Center of Northeast Arkansas, where he recently served as chief of staff.  He is a Member of the board of the Arkansas State University Foundation and immediate past president of the NEA Clinic Charitable Foundation.


Dr. Hall is also associate professor of medicine at the Area Health Education Center Northeast and a member of the Southern Medical Association.  He received the Robert S. Abernathy Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine in Arkansas in 2001.  He and his wife Barbara have two daughters and a son.


The American College of Physicians, with more that 115,000 members, is the second-largest physician group in the United States.  It was formed in 1998 by the merger of the American College of Physicians, founded in 1915, and the American Society of Internal Medicine, founded in 1956.  Its mission is to enhance the quality and effectiveness of health care by fostering excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine.