Board of Education votes to split up Twin Rivers district

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Board of Education has voted to split up the Twin Rivers School District into six neighboring school districts.

The board voted unanimously Monday to consolidate the 354-student district into the Highland, Hillcrest, Mammoth Spring, Maynard, Pocahontas and Sloan-Hendrix district. The board also voted to raise the enrollment cap for the nearby Imboden Charter School to give Twin Rivers students another option.

The Twin Rivers district has operated under state control since February because of accreditation violations.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)