Former JHS Standout Katie Beineke wins Winnie Marable Award

Batesville, AR (Lyon) - The Lyon College Athletic Department handed out their annual awards at a banquet held at Edwards Commons.
Volleyball player Katie Beineke of Jonesboro was honored with the Winnie Marable Award, given to Lyon's top female athlete. Scots' baseball player Zac Wallace of Prairie Grove and soccer goalkeeper Matt Callaway of Dallas, Texas, were honored with the R.C. "Dick" Winningham Award for Lyon's top male athlete. Soccer forward Gabe LeBlanc of Little Rock was presented with the John Dahlquist Award for Lyon's top scholar athlete.
John and Susan Dempsey were presented with the Jim Summers Booster of the Year Award for their hard work and dedication with their support of the Lyon athletic program.
Other awards presented at the banquet were as follows:

Sportsmanship Awards
Lyon College Team Champions of Character Award: Women's Volleyball Team
Female Champions of Character Award Winner: Lauren Castleberry (Westside HS -Bono, Ark.)
Male Champions of Character Award Winner: Seth Johnson (West Plains, Mo.)

Scot Award: Zac Wallace (Prairie Grove, Ark.)

Men's Basketball
Scot Award: Alex Kelly (Pea Ridge, Ark.)
Women's Basketball
Piper Award: Ashley Waller (Pocahontas HS -Pocahontas, Ark.)

Cross Country
Scot (Male) Award: Alex Moeller (Temple, Texas)
Piper (Female) Award: Lauren Fouse (Clarkesville, Tenn.)

Scot Award: Seth Johnson (West Plains, Mo.)
Piper Award: Jennifer Flegel (Van Buren, Ark.)
Men's Soccer
Scot Award: Matthew Callaway (Dallas, Texas)
Women's Soccer
Piper Award: Elizabeth Fuller (Wichita, Kan.)
Piper Award: Tenequa Martin (Taylor, Ark.)
Piper Award: Julie Arnold (Westside HS - Bono, Ark.)