Ark., Okla. schools to apply for new D-II league

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Nine Division II schools in Arkansas and Oklahoma will apply to the NCAA for permission to create a new conference.

Arkansas-Monticello, Arkansas Tech, East Central University, Harding, Henderson State, Ouachita Baptist, Southeastern Oklahoma State, Southern Arkansas and Southwestern Oklahoma State announced their intentions Tuesday. The Arkansas schools are currently in the Gulf South Conference, and the Oklahoma schools are in the Lone Star.

The schools say they are trying to limit travel costs and plan to submit a conference strategic plan, conference constitution and conference bylaws to the NCAA by Dec. 1.

Athletic schedules for the 2010-11 season will not be affected.

The loss of the Arkansas schools would drop the GSC to five football programs.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.