Ryan Mallett named to Manning Award Watch List

New Orleans (UofA) - University of Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett has been named to the Manning Award watch list, it was announced Thursday by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.  Ten finalists will be selected in late-November and the winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

Mallett  was the only player in the SEC to throw five-or-more touchdown passes in three different games while leading the league in both 300-yard (5) and 400-yard performances (2). The 30 touchdowns Mallett threw last season is the highest total for any returning playing in the league.

A finalist for the Manning Award last year as well, Mallett was the Most Valuable Player of UA's victory in the Liberty Bowl.

The Manning Award is releasing the Watch List one player per day through its official Facebook and Twitter pages. The award has honored the top quarterback in the nation for the past six years.