Ark. board extends moratorium on new colleges

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas' Higher Education Coordination Board has extended a moratorium on new college campuses by 10 years. The board met Friday in Little Rock and approved the moratorium because of concerns that state funding doesn't adequately meet the needs of existing four- and two-year colleges.

The state has 11 four-year and 22 two-year institutions. State higher education deputy director Stanley Williams says banning new colleges or the conversion of satellite campuses to stand-alone colleges will prevent dilution of state funding to existing institutions.

The board agreed to an exemption for the Heber Springs campus of Arkansas State University-Beebe to pursue independent status. The exemption was included in the original moratorium adopted 10 years ago.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)