Marcus Huffer and Wayne Koekemoer lead 26th A-State Golf Classic

Hot Springs (ASU) – The 26th annual A-State Golf Classic presented by Liberty Bank wrapped up action on day one at the Hot Springs Country Club Saturday.

The team of Marcus Huffer and Wayne Koekemoer led the 61-team field with a score of 58 (-14). The team of Ralph Haymond and Bruce Baxley are tied with the team of Randy Massanelli and Michael Teague for second place at 10 under par.

"It was a great day today from the beginning of the golf this morning to the dinner and silent auction tonight," said Associate AD for External Operations & Red Wolf Club Director Doug Doggett. "We are looking forward to the day tomorrow, with the maximum number of teams enjoying the course and continuing the outstanding weekend."

The proceeds from the tournament go to the Red Wolf Club, which serves as the principal fundraising arm of the ASU Athletic Department, and the ASU men's and women's golf programs.

The Red Wolf Club helps provide scholarships for more than 325 student-athletes in ASU's 16 varsity sports, and ended the 2009 fiscal year with record donations, and the month of April set a record for the highest donations in a single month in the history of the Club.

Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe served as the tournament's Honorary Chairman, while Senator Paul Bookout of Jonesboro served as the Honorary Co-Chairman.

The second round of the tournament begins at 8 a.m. Sunday with eight flights playing the round. Each flight will have two-three winners.