Razorback D.J. Williams named to Mackey Award watch list

MANHASSETT, N.Y - University of Arkansas football tight end D.J. Williams has been named to the 2010 John Mackey Award preseason watch list, it was announced by the Nassau County Sports Commission Monday. The annual award is presented to the nation's best collegiate tight end.

Williams returns to Arkansas having surmounted 1,228 receiving yards in his career. The senior hailing from Little Rock, Ark., caught 32 passes for 411 yards in 2009, scoring three touchdowns. He was a semifinalist for the award in the 2008 season; the first Razorback to do so in program history.

The honor's recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2010 John Mackey winner will be announced on December 9, 2010.

The award is named for NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey, considered by many one of the best all-time at the tight end position. Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

University of Arkansas Athletic Media Relations