Ryan Mallett and Blaine Gabbert on Manning Award Watch List

New Orleans (KAIT) - Arkansas football quarterback Ryan Mallett and Missouri quarterback Blaine Gabbert have been named to the 2010 Manning Award watch list. Sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, it honors the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It's the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

Mallett, a junior from Texarkana, Ark., tied or set 16 school records in 2009. In his first season of Southeastern Conference action, he led the league in touchdown passes (30), passing yards per game (278.8) and total offense (276.5). He was also second in the league and seventh nationally in pass efficiency (152.5) and his pass efficiency mark in home games (191.87) led the nation.

Gabbert had an outstanding sophomore season a year ago, as he threw for 3,593 yards and 24 touchdowns and a pass efficiency rating of 140.45, which was second-best in the Big 12 Conference.  In 13 starts, Gabbert completed 262-of-445 passes (58.9%), and he also ran for 204 yards and three touchdowns on the year, including a career-best 94 yards as he helped lead Mizzou to a comeback with over arch rival Kansas to close the regular season.

Middle Tennessee's Dwight Dasher is the only Sun Belt signal-caller on the Watch List.