New starting QBs abound in SEC

The Southeastern Conference is featuring plenty of new or somewhat new quarterbacks this season.

At least eight teams will open with starters who didn't finish last season in that role. That includes five players making their first starts for an SEC team.

The group of first-timers includes Auburn's Cam Newton, Georgia's Aaron Murray, Mississippi's Nathan Stanley, Tennessee's Matt Simms and either Chris Relf or Tyler Russell for Mississippi State.

Both Newton and new Florida starter John Brantley once played behind Tim Tebow for the Gators.

The group of new guys doesn't even include Jeremiah Masoli, whose waiver request at Ole Miss was denied by the NCAA. The former Oregon star is awaiting results from an appeal.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.