Red Wolves Hall of Honor to induct four new members September 17th

Jonesboro (ASU) – The Arkansas State Lettermen's Club will induct four new members into the ASU Hall of Honor at its 31st annual Lettermen's Banquet Friday, Sept. 17 at the Cooper Alumni Center.

Former women's basketball player Julie Hagood, former football player Scott Roper, former baseball player Keith Horn and former volleyball coach Chris Poole have been selected as the 2010 inductees.

Hagood was a four-year letter winner at ASU from 1997-2000.  She was named the Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year in 1997 and was a four-time all-conference selection.  Hagood made two trips to the postseason Women's National Invitation Tournament with the Red Wolves, and her name remains etched in the ASU record book.  She sits third for career three-pointers with 189, fourth for career points with 1,840, fifth for career steals with 220, sixth for career assists with 341 and 16th for career rebounds with 484.

Roper transferred to ASU from UT-Arlington in 1986 and became the Division I-AA top kick-scorer with 96 points that year, the most points by kicking for a single season in ASU history.  He was named the 1980's All-Decade team as selected by the ASU coaching staff and earned All-Southland Conference honors following ASU's last year in the league.  Roper holds the record for most points by kicking in a single game, chalking up 19 against North Texas in 1986.  His five field goals against UNT also mark the ASU record for most field goals made in a game.  He sits fifth on both the career points by kicking and field goals made charts.  He totaled 170 points and 32 field goals in his two years at A-State.

Horn lettered with the Red Wolves baseball team from 1993-95 and still holds the ASU records for victories in a season (11, 1994) and strikeouts in a game (18, vs. Memphis, 1995).  He sits tied for the most games started in a career, starting on the mound 39 times while at Arkansas State.  He was a two-time All-Sun Belt Conference selection, earned SBC Tournament MVP honors in 1994 and was named to the NCAA Regional All-Tournament Team that same year. Horn's 106 strikeouts in 1995 rank third on the single-season chart, while he landed fourth on the innings pitched chart with 118 and two-thirds innings in 1994.

Poole led the Arkansas State volleyball program to a 213-54 (.798) record and five conference championships during his tenure at ASU.  He guided the Red Wolves to an NCAA Tournament appearance in 1992 and three Women's Invitational Volleyball Championship appearances (1989, 1990 and 1991) in his six years as head coach.  Poole was a two-time Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year selection and a three-time American South Coach of the Year recipient.  He coached five Player of the Year selections, ten all-conference players and an American Volleyball Coaches' Association All-Region selection.  He currently holds the highest winning percentage of any ASU volleyball coach.

The Letterman's Club would also like to encourage all former hall of honor inductees to attend. There will be a special recognition of all former hall of honor inductees at the banquet.

"It is an honor for us to have this year's banquet at the Cooper Alumni Center," said Dr. Jim Wagner. "It adds a lot to an already classy banquet to have it at a facility of that caliber. We would like to encourage all-former hall of honor inductees to come back and take part in this occasion."

This year's banquet will be open to the public, and tickets can be purchased by contacting Dr. Jim Wagner at 870-972-5445.  The event is set to get underway at 6:30 p.m.

Tickets to the ASU football home opener as well as season tickets for the Red Wolves' 2010 campaign remain on sale and can be ordered by contacting the ASU Box Office at 870-972-ASU1 or 1-888-ASU-FANS or by visiting  For more information, contact the ASU Marketing Department at 870-972-3880.