Bush Declares Region 8 Counties Disaster Area

June 6, 2003
Posted at: 8:25 p.m. CDT

WASHINGTON -- The Bush administration is declaring federal disasters in 15 Arkansas counties.

The declaration was made today for areas that were hit by a waves of severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding beginning in early May.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties may be added to the list when the assessments are completed.

The federal disaster declaration opens up federal funding for state and local agencies to repair or replace public properties damaged by the storms.

The counties covered by the declaration are Chicot, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Independence, Jackson, Madison, Newton, Perry, Poinsett, Saint Francis, Van Buren, White, and Woodruff.

Copyright 2003 Associated Press. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.