ASU Women's Golf wins Chip-N Club Invitational

Lincoln, NE (ASU) – Four Arkansas State players finished among the top-20 individuals at the Chip-N Club Invitational, leading the Red Wolves women's golf team to the tournament championship Tuesday with a combined score of 598 in its season debut.

The Red Wolves posted a tournament-best 292 for the second round, vaulting from a tie for sixth place after yesterday's opening round to claim their first tournament title since winning the Lady Red Wolf Classic last season.  A-State edged Kansas and Kansas State, two of the 15 teams competing, by one stroke to collect the title.  ASU also finished ahead of teams such as Missouri, Iowa and Nebraska.

"Overall, I am just really excited about the way we played," said ASU head coach M.J. Desbiens.  "I think they deserve this win because we've been working very hard as a team, and I think that hard work early in the season is already showing.  I think everyone's focus today was on being able to pull for each other, being accountable for one another and to finish really strong, and that's what we did."

A-State posted a first-round 306, but three of its five competing golfers posted their best scores of the tournament in the second round to help push the team to the top of the leaderboard.  Jennifer Welch posted ASU's lowest score Tuesday with a 72, while Jennifer Loiacano and Courtney Manning carded a 73.  Loiacano's 73 was a career-best round for the sophomore from Jonesboro.

Anna Carling shot a combined 146, which included a career-tying 72 for the first round, to finish tied for third and lead the Red Wolves.  Welch and Loiacano finished tied for 11th place with a 151, while Manning followed in a tie for 20th with a 153.  Aly Seng ended the tournament tied for 43rd place with a 157.

ASU returns to action Sept. 27-28 when it will compete at the Marilynn Smith Invitational in Lawrence, Kansas.


Place, Name (RD1-RD 2--TOTAL)

1, Arkansas State (306-292--598)

T3, Anna Carling (72-74--146)

T11, Jennifer Welch (79-72--151)

T11, Jennifer Loiacano (78-73--151)

T20, Courtney Manning (80-73--153)

T43, Aly Seng (77-80--157)