State Announces Storm Assistance Money Available

June 24, 2003
Posted at: 9:20 a.m. CDT

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Some individuals who need help recovering from storms, tornadoes and flooding may now qualify for state and federal assistance.

State emergency management officials announced yesterday that renters, homeowners and business owners in 19 counties are eligible for help with uninsured property losses.

The assistance is available through federal, state and private sources for losses that occurred from May second through June 10.

Individuals can apply for help through the state Department of Emergency Management.

Officials say individual assistance is available for people living in the following counties:

    • Benton
    • Chicot
    • Cleburne
    • Columbia
    • Conway
    • Craighead
    • Crittenden
    • Cross
    • Faulkner
    • Fulton
    • Jackson
    • Lonoke
    • Nevada
    • Perry
    • Phillips
    • Poinsett
    • Saint Francis
    • White
    • Woodruff

The Bush administration earlier this month declared 15 Arkansas counties federal disaster areas following storms and flooding.

Copyright 2003 Associated Press. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.