Commissioner chosen of new Divison II conference with Arkansas & Oklahoma schools

SEARCY, Ark. (AP) - A newly formed NCAA Division II conference

that includes schools in Arkansas and Oklahoma now has a


West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference associate

commissioner Will Prewitt has been chosen to lead the new league.

The announcement was made Tuesday by Harding University

President David Burks, who was chairman of the search committee for

the as-yet unnamed conference.

The new league will include Harding, Arkansas-Monticello,

Arkansas Tech, Henderson State, Ouachita Baptist and Southern

Arkansas in Arkansas. From Oklahoma, East Central, Southeastern

Oklahoma and Southwestern Oklahoma are joining the league.

Prewitt is on the NCAA Football Rules Committee and served four

years on the NCAA Division II Championships Committee as the

liaison for football and men's golf.