Ryan Mallett & Blaine Gabbert named Davey O'Brien Award semifinalists

Fort Worth, TX (UofA) - University of Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2010 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award as announced by the Davey O'Brien Foundation Monday.

Mallett has completed 145-of-215 passes for 2,040 yards and 15 touchdowns. During his Razorback career, he has set or matched 34 different school or stadium records. His 291.4 passing yards per game and 55 completions of 15-or-more yards leads the SEC.

Mallett has thrown for at least 300 yards in five games this season, tying his single-season school record from 2009 and extending his Arkansas career record. Included was a 400-yard game vs. ULM that was the third of his career. Before the Texarkana, Ark., native came to Arkansas, the school had never had a 400-yard passer in a single game.

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The O'Brien honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $800,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best college quarterback as often as once daily at www.VoteOBrien.org. The Fan Vote counts as 5% during each round of the voting process, and it is combined with the results from The O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. The 2010 O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 9 on ESPN and will be honored at the 34th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner held at The Fort Worth Club on Feb. 21, 2011 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2010 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists      
 Matt Barkley So. USC Pac-10
 Kirk Cousins Jr. Michigan State   Big Ten
 Andy Dalton Sr. TCU MWC 
 Blaine Gabbert Jr.  Missouri  Big 12 
 Robert Griffin III So.  Baylor  Big 12 
 Landry Jones So.  Oklahoma  Big 12 
 Colin Kaepernick Sr.  Nevada  WAC 
 Andrew Luck Jr.  Stanford  Pac-10 
 Ryan Mallett  Jr.  Arkansas  SEC 
 Taylor Martinez Fr.  Nebraska  Big 12 
 Kellen Moore Jr.  Boise State  WAC 
 Cam Newton Jr.  Auburn  SEC 
 Terrelle Pryor Jr.  Ohio State  Big Ten 
 Denard Robinson So.  Michigan  Big Ten 
 Ricky Stanzi Sr.  Iowa  Big Ten 
 Darron Thomas So.  Oregon  Pac-10