Arkansas Executions Since 1976

July 9, 2003 - Posted at: 4:22 p.m. CDT

VARNER, Ark. -- Wednesday's scheduled execution of Riley Dobi Noel in a case from Pulaski County was to be the 25 in Arkansas since the U.S. Supreme Court reauthorized the death penalty in 1976.

Arkansas executions resumed in 1990.

The inmates killed previously:

May 8, 2001, Clay King Smith, convicted in Jefferson County.

Dec. 19, 2000, David Dewayne Johnson, convicted in Pulaski County.

May 2, 2000, Christina Marie Riggs, convicted in Pulaski County and the first woman executed in Arkansas since 1855.

Sept. 8, 1999, Mark Gardner, convicted in Sebastian County; and Alan Willett, convicted in Johnson County.

April 12, 1999, Marion Albert Pruett, convicted in Sebastian County.

Feb. 16, 1999, Johnie Michael Cox, convicted in White County.

July 8, 1998, Wilburn T. Henderson, convicted in Sebastian County.

Aug. 6, 1997, Eugene Perry, convicted in Sebastian County.

Jan. 8, 1997, Kirt Wainwright, convicted in Nevada County; Earl Van Denton and Paul Ruiz, convicted in Logan County.

Aug. 8, 1996, William Frank Parker, convicted in Benton County.

Aug. 31, 1995, Barry Lee Fairchild, convicted in Lonoke County.

April 19, 1995, Richard W. Snell, convicted in Miller County.

Aug. 3, 1994, Hoyt F. Clines, Darryl V. Richley and James W. Holmes, convicted in Benton County.

May 11, 1994, Edward C. Pickens, convicted in Prairie and Arkansas counties; Jonas Whitmore, convicted in Scott and Montgomery counties.

May 7, 1992, Steven D. Hill, convicted in Pulaski County.

Jan. 24, 1992, Rickey R. Rector, convicted in Faulkner County.

June 25, 1990, Ronald G. Simmons, convicted in Pope County.

June 18, 1990, John E. Swindler, convicted in Sebastian County.

In 1999, Gov. Mike Huckabee canceled the execution of Bobby Ray
Fretwell and commuted his sentence to life without parole after a
juror said he was pressured into voting for the death penalty.
Fretwell had been scheduled to die Feb. 16, 1999 for a killing in
Searcy County.

Copyright 2003 Associated Press. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.