Several Region 8 mayors’ position in runoff election Tuesday

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) – Several Region 8 cities are holding runoff elections Tuesday to decide who will be mayor.

Lake City will elect a new mayor, as a runoff election between Gail Carner and Joe Milligan will decide who replaces current mayor Billy Anderson who did not seek reelection.

Blytheville is also electing a new mayor, as Tommy Abbot and current Mississippi County Sheriff James Sanders battle to see who will replace current mayor Barrett Harrison who is retiring after 12 years.

Also in Mississippi County, Gosnell will elect a new mayor. Don Marshall and Tammie Fulks are in a runoff to replace current mayor Dick Reams who is retiring after 6 terms in office.

Current Trumann mayor Sheila Walters is in a runoff election with former mayor Ronnie Harrison. Also in Poinsett County, the Lepanto mayor's position is in a runoff between Dale Dunlap and Steve Jernigan.

Dyess's current mayor Larry Sims is also in a runoff election against Gene Williams.

Polls open at 7:30 Tuesday morning and close at 7:30pm, call your local county clerk's office to find your polling location.

©2010 KAIT all rights reserved.