ASU Football has 11 players named All-Sun Belt Conference

JONESBORO (12/8/10) – The Arkansas State football team placed a league-high 11 different players, including five first-team selections, on the 2010 All-Sun Belt Conference Team, announced Wednesday morning by the conference office.

In addition to their five first-team selections, the Red Wolves had four players earn second team honors and two named honorable mention.  A-State's 11 selections matched its 2008 total to tie the most in school history as a member of the Sun Belt.  The Red Wolves have now picked up at least 10 All-Sun Belt Conference choices four of the past six seasons.

Earning first-team recognition for A-State this year were Ryan Aplin (Soph., QB), Derek Newton (Sr., OL), Bryan Hall (Sr., DL), Demario Davis (Jr., LB) and M.D. Jennings (Sr., DB).  Tom Castilaw (Sr., OL), Sifa Etu (Sr., OL), Dorvus Woods (Jr., DL) and Javon McKinnon (Sr., LB) were all named second team, while Dwayne Frampton (Jr., WR) and Allen Muse (Soph., WR) were both honorable mention choices.

ASU will have five All-Sun Belt Conference performers from this season returning in 2011, matching Troy, Florida International and Louisiana-Monroe for the most in the league.  While Florida International followed ASU with 10 players on this year's all-conference squad, it had a league-best 12 selections that included T.Y. Hilton (Jr., WR) listed at wide receiver, all-purpose and return specialist.

Following ASU and FIU, Middle Tennessee had nine, Troy and Florida Atlantic eight, North Texas seven, Louisiana-Monroe five and Louisiana-Lafayette and Western Kentucky four players named All-Sun Belt Conference.

Hilton was named the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year, while Western Kentucky's Bobby Rainey (Jr., RB) was tabbed the Offensive Player of the Year, Middle Tennessee's Jamari Lattimore (Sr., DL) the Defensive Player of the Year, Troy's Corey Robinson (QB) the Freshman of the Year and Florida International's Mario Cristobal the Coach of the Year.

The All-Sun Belt Conference Team was selected by each team's head coach and a media representative from each institution.

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference


Ryan Aplin (Arkansas State, So., QB)

Lance Dunbar (North Texas, Jr., RB)

Bobby Rainey (WKU, Jr., RB)

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., WR)

Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., WR)

Ladarius Green (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., TE)

Brad Serini (FIU, Sr., OL)

Tyler Clark (Troy, Sr., OL)

Victor Gill (North Texas, Sr., OL)

Derek Newton (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)

Esteban Santiago (North Texas, Sr., OL)


Bryan Hall (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)

Jamari Lattimore (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL)

Jonathan Massaquoi (Troy, So., DL)

Jarvis Wilson (FIU, Sr., DL)

Demario Davis (Arkansas State, Jr., LB)

Toronto Smith (FIU, Sr., LB)

Craig Robertson (North Texas, Sr., LB)

M.D. Jennings (Arkansas State, Sr., DB)

Anthony Gaitor (FIU, Sr., DB)

Rod Issac (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DB)

Jeremy Kellem (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DB)

Special Teams

Alan Gendreau (Middle Tennessee, Jr., K)

Mickey Groody (Florida Atlantic, R-Jr., P)

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., Return Specialist)

Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., All Purpose)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference


Corey Robinson (Troy, Fr., QB)

Phillip Tanner (Middle Tennessee, Sr., RB)

Darriet Perry (FIU, Jr., RB)

Lester Jean (Florida Atlantic, Sr., WR)

Luther Ambrose (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., WR)

Rob Housler (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., TE)

Tom Castilaw (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)

Sifa Etu (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)

Ian Burks (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL)

Mark Fisher (Middle Tennessee, Sr., OL)

James Brown (Troy, Jr., OL)


Dorvus Woods (Arkansas State, Jr., DL)

Tourek Williams (FIU, So., DL)

Ken Dorsey (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., DL)

Mario Addison (Troy, Sr., DL)

Javon McKinnon (Arkansas State, Sr., LB)

Michael Lockley (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., LB)

Thomas Majors (WKU, Sr., LB)

Marcus Bartels (Florida Atlantic, R-Jr., DB)

Tavious Polo (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., DB)

Jonathan Cyprien (FIU, So., DB)

Darius Prelow (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., DB)

Special Teams

Zach Olen (North Texas, Fr., K)

Josh Davis (Middle Tennessee, Fr., P)

Jerrel Jernigan (Troy, Sr., Return Specialist)

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., All-Purpose)

Honorable Mention All-Sun Belt Conference

Dwayne Frampton (Arkansas State, Jr., WR); Allen Muse (Arkansas State, So., WR); Tarvoris Hill (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., DB); Jeff Van Camp (Florida Atlantic, R-Sr., QB); Greg Ellingson (FIU, Sr., WR); Winston Fraser (FIU, R-So., LB); Orkeys Auriene (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., DB); Spencer Ortego (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., P); Kolton Browning (ULM, R-Fr., QB); Cameron Blakes (ULM, So., LB); Eric Russel (Middle Tennessee, Junior, RS); Dwight Smith (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL); Brelan Chancellor (North Texas, Fr. RS); Will Goggans (Troy, Jr., P); Michael Taylor (Troy, Jr., K); Orlando Misaalefua (WKU, Sr., LB); Mychal Patterson (WKU, Sr., OL)

Player of the Year:

T.Y. Hilton (FIU, Jr., WR)

Offensive Player of the Year:

Bobby Rainey (WKU, Jr., RB)

Defensive Player of the Year:

Jamari Lattimore (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL)

Freshman of the Year:

Corey Robinson (Troy, Fr., QB)

Coach of the Year:

Mario Cristobal, FIU