Arkansas coach named 1 of 9 Bryant Award finalists

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - The University of Arkansas says football coach Bobby Petrino has been named 1 of 9 finalists for this year's Paul "Bear" Bryant Award given to the nation's top college coach.

A news release from the Razorback athletic program said this year's winner of the award - named for the legendary Alabama coach - would be announced at a Houston banquet benefitting the American Heart Association on Jan. 18, 2011, after all bowl games have been played.

The other finalists for the award are Nevada's Chris Ault, Bret Bielema, Wisconsin; Gene Chizik, Auburn; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Jim Harbaugh, Stanford; Chip Kelly, Oregon; Gary Patterson, TCU; and Mike Sherman, Texas A&M.

Copyright 2010 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.