Rural Fire Departments Receive Money

July 25, 2003  Posted at 7:34 a.m. CDT

LITTLE ROCK, Ark.  --    The federal government recently awarded 600-thousand-295 dollars in grants to 14 rural fire departments in Arkansas. That announcement is from the Arkansas congressional delegation.

The Federal Emergency Management Administration and the U-S Department of Homeland Security administer the grants. The money provides resources necessary to ensure the safety of firefighters and the public.

The departments and the grant amounts are:

*Saffell Volunteer Fire Department, Lawrence County, $36,896.

*Oxford Volunteer Fire Department, Izard County, $29,990.

*Oppelo Volunteer Fire Department, Conway County, $36,450.

*Shaw Volunteer Fire Department, Saline County, $88,785.

*Green Forest Fire Department, Carroll County, $62,640.

*Midland Fire Department, Sebastian County, $9,722.

*Siloam Springs Fire Department, Benton County, $69,174.

*Wright-Pastoria Fire Department, Jefferson County, $40,140.

*Belfast-Palestine Volunteer Fire Department, Grant County, $36,857.

*Highway 35-South Fire Department, Cleveland County, $28,620.

*Macedonia Dorcheat Volunteer Fire Department, Columbia County, $28,800.

*Magazine Fire Department, Logan County, $54,749.

*Doddridge Volunteer Fire Department, Miller County, $38,340.

*Cerro Gordo Firefighters Inc., Little River County, $39,132.

Copyright 2003.  Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.  This information may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.