ASU sets record numbers with Athletic Director’s Honor Roll - KAIT Jonesboro, AR - Region 8 News, weather, sports

ASU sets record numbers with Athletic Director’s Honor Roll

From Arkansas State University

The Arkansas State Department of Athletics recognized a school-record 186 student-athletes Thursday night during halftime of the Red Wolves' men's basketball game for achieving at least a 3.0 grade point average for the 2010 fall semester to place them on the Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Not only were the 186 members recognized the most ever on an ASU Athletic Director's Honor Roll, they also represented a school-record 56 percent of all A-State student-athletes.

Student-athletes from all of ASU's 16 NCAA sports were on the list, including 47 football, 41 track & field and cross country, 20 women's soccer, 19 baseball, 11 men's golf, nine women's golf and volleyball, seven women's bowling and women's tennis and six women's basketball student-athletes.

"We continue to strive for the greatest possible academic success and our student-athletes continue to excel in the classroom," said ASU Director of Athletics Dr. Dean Lee. "We have set a high academic standard at ASU and our student-athletes continue to respond. The record number of members on the latest Athletic Director's Honor Roll list not only represents the hard work our student-athletes put into their education, but is also a testament to the outstanding coaches and support staff we have here at Arkansas State."

Additionally, a school-record 40 student-athletes on the list posted a 4.0 GPA last semester, and among them were Cory Kyle (baseball), Ryan Aplin (football), William Boyd (football), Taylor Clements (football), Nathan Herrold (football), Cody Prater (football), Kristina Aubert (track and field), Kelsey Bean (track and field), Courtney Briney (track and field), Emily Carroll (track and field), Jennifer Day (track and field), Jamie Fleming (track and field), Mary Krug (track and field), Dawn L'Heureux (track and field), Kim Ludick (track and field), Christopher Nicasio (track and field), Staci Papageorge (track and field), Devin Reed (track and field), Kelsey Smith (women's bowling), Anna Carling (women's golf), Courtney Manning (women's golf), Alyson Seng (women's golf), Mary Geels (women's soccer), Christine Giles (women's soccer), Bethany Kremer (women's soccer), Meghan Mace (women's soccer), Ashley McMurtry (women's soccer), Lyndsey Patterson (women's soccer), Stasha Siers (women's soccer), Miranda Wiley (women's soccer), Ceara Howey (women's tennis), Biljana Miloshevska (women's tennis), Tina Ojdanic (women's tennis), Ioana Teu (women's tennis), and Kelsie Hodges (volleyball).

"This is an outstanding accomplishment by our student-athletes, and we are extremely proud of their academical performances," said ASU Associate Athletic Director for Academic Services Stacey Willmott. "We have a tremendous staff of academic coordinators in place to assist our student-athletes, and this is a great credit to their dedication and performance while working with these young men and women as well."

The fall 2010 ASU Athletic Director's Honor Roll list includes:

BASEBALL: Kaleb Brown, Andres Caceres, Jordan Castaldo, Michael Faulkner, Andy Ferguson, Zach George, Jon Glidewell, Anthony Hecht, Sam Jew, Dustin Jones, John Koch, Cory Kyle, Jacob Lee, Zach Maggio, Phillip Malatesta, Brandon Milhouse, Daniel Short, Tyler Smith and Logan Uxa.

MEN'S BASKETBALL: Adam Sterrenberg

FOOTBALL: Raheim Alford, Eric Allen, Ryan Aplin, Matthew Baltensperger, Brock Barnhill, Graham Bates, Jeff Blake, William Boyd, Phillip Butterfield, Thomas Castilaw, Taylor Clements, Joshua Creel, Brian Davis, Demario Davis, RJ Fleming, Dwayne Frampton, Adam Gaston, Jeremy Gibson, Bryan Hall, Clay Hart, Nathan Herrold, MD Jennings, Derek Johnson, Julian Jones, Derek Lawson, Zach Lisko, Cole Lorigan, Carlos McCants, Tyler McKee, Zack McKnight, Delano Moore, Kedric Murry, Nick Nelms, Trey Outlaw, Markel Owens, Dominic Padrta, Brandon Parker, Cody Prater, Kenny Rains, AJ Riels, Justin Robertson, Alfonzo Simmons, Taylor Stockemer, Neely Sullivent Sirgregory Thorton, Sterling Young and Bobby Zalud.

MEN'S GOLF: Sean Brock, Lloyd de Preez, Tommy Eagan, Alex Hewitt, Chance Holden, Warren Hood, Peter Lewin, Chris Pledger, Sawyer Radler, Cory Williamson and Wessel Zwiegers.

TRACK & FIELD AND CROSS COUNTRY: Kristina Aubert, Lucas Bateman, Kelsey Bean, Justin Becton, Courtney Briney, Alyssa Brock, Bailey Bunyan, Emily Carroll, Richard Chavez, Emily Cook, Charles Damberger, Jennifer Day, Jamie Fleming, Stephanie Foreman, Sydney Foreman, Ray Henderson, Tyler Jackson, Ryutaro Kinjo, Mary Krug, Dawn L'Heureux, Thomas Ligon, Tyler Lingo, Kim Ludick, Joseph Meyer, David Mills, LaKeitha Minter, Erica Naeger, Henry Ndichu, Christopher Nicasio, William Oliver, Jessica Otto, Staci Papageorge, Devin Reed, Ethan Sandusky, Taylor Short, Bailey Sisson, Rusty Staggs, Charl Stander, Tevin Thompson, Chelsea Weaver and Richard Williams.

WOMEN'S BASKETBALL: Lexy Harris, NeNe Hurst, Olivia Maddox, Jane Morrill, Hanna Qedan and Mekena Randle.

WOMEN'S BOWLING: Lela Dudley, Lindsey Dunn, Emily Fravel, Melissa Lachanski, Lauren Pulver, Ashley Rucker and Kelsey Smith.

WOMEN'S GOLF: Anna Carling, Anna Flanrey, Alyssa Goodin, Jennifer Loiacano, Courtney Manning, Alyson Seng, Clara Tefteller, Jennifer Welch and Claire Woosley.

WOMEN'S SOCCER: Susan Brown, Michele Clark, Kelsey Finders, Alex Furr, Mary Geels, Christine Giles, Ashley Jackson, Anna Kaloghirou, Bethany Kremer, Meghan Mace, Mallory McGilvray, Ashley McMurtry, Michelle Nichols, Kara Nitti, Lyndsey Patterson, Tory Pitts, Stasha Siers, Megan Stoltzfus, Becca Wheeler and Miranda Wiley.

WOMEN'S TENNIS: Emily Crowe, Jenny Herring, Ceara Howey, Biljana Miloshevska, Janie Nowland, Tina Ojdanic and Ioana Teu.

VOLLEYBALL: Megan Baska, Taylor Coughlin, Shelby Crncic, Kelsie Hodges, Allison Kearney, Whitney Nilson, Taylor Szypulski, Jasmine Terry and Ashley Tipps.

A-TEAM: Erin Bickley, Chloe Case, Kelsey Cravens, Lexie Maule, Kaitlyn West, Alana Whatley and Shea Wilkerson.

CHEERLEADERS: Shelby Brooks, Britney Cotton, Candace Evans, John Fortenberry, Taylor Gee, Danielle Goodwin, Shelby Johnson, Chelsea Lynch, Lindsey Marshall, Morgan Mathes, Bryce Newsome, Zac Short, Sandy Smith, Stacey Spivey, Paige Turpin, Ryan Ware and Stephanie York.

BAND: Camille Allensworth, Robert Bajorek, Cody Ballard, Lindsay Baltz, Megan Bishop, Addison Boling, Jacob Bushong, Joe Coffee, Dustin Cole, Joseph Curtis, Greg Daffron, Jake Davis, Michelle Davis, Erynn Fenner, Wesley Forsythe, Angel Hamill, Lauren Henderson, Shelby Higgins, Seth Jansen, Norma Lopez, Sunnie McCarty, Tim Moore, Nikki Mullen, Kim Roberson, Alex Roofe, Clay Rucker, Nikolos Ryan, Chris Smith, Robert Smith, Garrett Tyler, Andrew Webb and Kyle Whittington.

Powered by Frankly