Wildfires forcing forestry commission to work overtime

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) – The Arkansas Forestry Commission says numerous county judges have issued burn bans to several counties including some in Region 8.

According to the Arkansas Forestry Commission, Ashley, Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Conway, Faulkner, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Newton, Perry, Polk, Searcy and Van Buren Counties are under a burn ban.

The commission has also issued a Red Flag Warning for two-thirds of the state of Arkansas.

AFC says they have crews working 17 wildfires and additional fire calls continue to come in. They say one single engine air tanker is working to contain a fire approximately one mile south of Clinton.

AFC also has two single engine air tankers working to contain a wildfire southwest of Concord in Cleburne County.

Region 8 News will continue to track these stories and bring you more updates as soon as they become available.

Copyright 2011 KAIT. All rights reserved.