Businesses in Oklahoma, Arkansas eligible for aid

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - The U.S. Small Business Administration says small, non-farm businesses in seven southern Oklahoma counties and two southern Arkansas counties are eligible for low-interest disaster loans to offset economic losses from drought last year.

The SBA said Friday that businesses in Bryan, Choctaw, Cotton, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson and McCurtain counties in Oklahoma and Little River and Miller counties in Arkansas can seek the assistance because of reduced revenues caused by drought that occurred from March 2010 through December. The counties are along the states' borders with Texas.

Besides small, non-farm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives and private, non-profit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)