More counties added to FEMA's growing list

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) – Federal disaster assistance is now available to people living in six more Region 8 counties.

The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) made the announcement Monday.

"We hope these additions to the disaster declaration will jumpstart the rebuilding process in many parts of the state," said Federal Coordinating Officer Nancy M. Casper.  "Our goal is to help the people of Arkansas and their communities recover and get back to normal as soon as possible."

Added to the growing list are:  Cross, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Prairie and Woodruff Counties.

People living in these counties affected by the recent tornadoes and floods can now apply for federal individual assistance.

In addition, 34 more counties have been added to the 10 already set to receive federal aid under FEMA's public assistance program.  Counties in Region 8 include:  Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Crittenden, Cross, Greene, Independence, Izard, Lawrence, Randolph and White.

Information about FEMA's individual assistance program is available here.  More information about public assistance can be found here.

You can register online or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  Hearing impaired individuals can call 1-800-462-7585.

Copyright 2011 KAIT. All rights reserved.