2011 NCAA Baseball Tournament bracket released

INDIANAPOLIS (NCAA) - The field of 64 teams competing for the 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship was announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The national top eight seeds are Virginia (49-9), Florida (45-16), North Carolina (45-14), South Carolina (45-14), Florida State (42-17), Vanderbilt (47-10), Texas (43-15) and Rice (41-19).

The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) and Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with seven apiece. The Big 12 and Pacific-10 had six each, while the Conference USA had four selected.

Making the tournament for the first time are Belmont of the Atlantic Sun Conference, Alcorn State of the Southwestern Athletic Conference and UALR of the Sun Belt Conference. Overall, 36 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Miami (Florida) is in the field for the 39th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 34th straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (20), Rice (17), Oral Roberts (14) and Texas (13).

Of the 292 championship eligible Division I institutions that sponsor baseball, Virginia has the most Division I wins with 49.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on www.ncaa.com/cws, Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. ET.

The 65th Men's College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Arkansas will return to Tempe after being knocked out of the Super Regionals last year. The Diamond Hogs take on Charlotte Friday.

UALR will also head out west. The Trojans will play host Oregon State in the Corvallis Regional.