Hendrix College to join new conference starting in 2012-13

BIRMINGHAM, AL (Birmingham Southern) - Seven members of the NCAA Division III Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference announced today that they are leaving the conference effective July 1, 2012, to form a new athletics conference that will begin competition with the 2012-13 academic year. The announcement was made in Atlanta at the 2011 annual meeting of the SCAC presidents.

Spanning six Southeastern states, the new conference will include Birmingham-Southern College; Centre College in Danville, Ky.; Hendrix College in Conway, Ark.; Millsaps College in Jackson, Miss.; Oglethorpe University in Atlanta, Ga.; Rhodes College in Memphis, Tenn.; and Sewanee: The University of the South in Sewanee, Tenn. Joining them to create the new eight-member conference will be Berry College in Rome, Ga.

The new conference is being formed to foster athletics competition and cooperation among academically selective, residential liberal arts colleges located in the Southeastern region of the United States. The geographic focus will result in reduced travel time and costs, while still allowing for a strong conference of like-minded institutions, all of which integrate competitive athletics into the whole of the scholar-athlete's educational experience.