Deadline to apply for food assistance June 9

LITTLE ROCK, AR (KAIT) - The Department of Human Services has listed ten counties in Arkansas that can apply for Disaster Food Assistance, but the deadline to apply for aid is June 9.

As a result of the May 1 flooding and continued severe weather, Cross, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Lonoke, Prairie, Woodruff and Monroe counties are approved for Disaster SNAP assistance.

Any household that resided within one of the designated counties at the time of the May 1 and continuing severe storms and flooding and suffered disaster losses may be eligible to receive temporary DSNAP assistance. DSNAP benefits are provided via an electronic debit-like card and can be used to purchase food items at grocery stores and other authorized retailers.

Residents in any of the designated counties may be eligible if the household experienced at least one of the following conditions as a direct result of the May 1, 2011 and continuing severe storms/flooding:

• Damage to or destruction of the home or self-employment business.

• Loss or inaccessibility of income including a reduction or termination of income or a significant delay in receiving income due to disaster related problems.

• Disaster-related expenses (home or business repairs, temporary shelter, evacuation, etc) that are not expected to be reimbursed during the disaster benefit period.

Households applying for Disaster SNAP must actually have lived in the disaster area at the time of the storms/flooding and must have suffered loss or damages.

To apply, contact your local DHS office by Thursday, June 9.

Copyright 2011 KAIT. All rights reserved.