South Carolina repeats as College World Series champions

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) - Michael Roth pitched 7 2-3 innings on three

days' rest, and South Carolina won its second straight national

championship with a 5-2 victory Tuesday night that completed a

two-game sweep over Florida in the College World Series finals.

South Carolina (55-14) became the first team to ever go 10-0 in

an NCAA tournament and the first since Oregon State in 2007 to go

unbeaten in a CWS.

The Gamecocks' streaks of 16 NCAA tournament wins and 11

straight in the CWS are both the longest all-time.

Peter Mooney doubled to start a three-run third inning and hit

the Gamecocks' first home run of the CWS in the sixth.

After giving up four runs in the first inning of their opener

against Texas A&M, the Gamecocks allowed just six in their other 50

innings here.