ASU Rugby will return to College Premier Division for 2012 season

JONESBORO, AR ( - College Premier Division teams have been working with the understanding that July 1 was the date by which they needed to declare their intent to either stay in the CPD for its second season or return to DI. At time of print, had made attempts to contact every team that competed in the inaugural CPD and not already announced their return to DI.

We can confirm San Diego State will be returning to DI and joining the Pacific Mountain West Conference. Claremont Colleges has also made the decision to return to DI, and they will compete in the Pacific Mountain West, as well.

Here are the teams that confirmed their intent to return to the CPD: Air Force, Rutgers, Cal Poly, Central Washington, St. Mary's, UC Davis, Arizona State, Colorado State, Utah, Arkansas State, Life, Texas A&M, Delaware, Kutztown and Navy.

Arizona, BYU, Colorado, Wyoming, Notre Dame, Oklahoma, Ohio State and Penn State could not be immediately reached, but due to prior conversations with representatives of those programs themselves or independent sources, expects all will return to CPD in 2012.